Fyrri mynd
Nęsta mynd
Welcome to our website. We use cookies to enhance your experience here and analyse traffic. By using this website you agree to use cookies and our terms.

Communes of
Kjos District:




In general

Iceland is divided into 10 municipal control districts, each with a supervisory authority (Board of Public Health). These authorities are Environmental and Public Health Offices (LCAs) which have control duties related to food safety, environmental protection and general hygiene. The organization and structure of the LCAs is based on provisions of the Act No 7/1998 on Hygiene and Pollution control, and Act No 93/1995 on Food.

The Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food is responsible for the legislation on food safety, while the Ministry for the Environment is responsible for legislation on environmental protection and general hygiene. As a consequence, Icelandic Food and Veterinary Authority (MAST) is responsible for supervision of the LCAs activities regarding food safety, while Environment Agency of Iceland is responsible for their work related to environmental protection and general hygiene. These institutions issues guidelines which the LCAs are obliged to follow.

Public Health in the district of Kjós

The Board of Public Health in Kjós area is the highest authority of the Local Competent Authority (LCA) of Kjós. Its role is to promote public welfare by helping to ensure a healthy environment, and safe consumer goods. This is brought on with regular control in operating companies, monitoring and education.

Areas of operation: